The 2017 ABWH Luncheon is Almost Here!!

The annual ABWH luncheon will be held on Saturday, September 30, 2017 at the ASALH meeting in Cincinnati, OH at the Regency Hotel.

Our theme this year is “Black Women Educating for Social Justice: Teaching the Past, Imagining the Future” and we are honored to have as our keynote speaker Dr. Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor.

Dr. Taylor is the author of From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation, published by Haymarket Books in January 2016. The book surveys the historical and contemporary ravages of racism and persistent structural inequality, including mass incarceration, housing discrimination, police violence, and unemployment. Taylor is the recipient of the 2016 Cultural Freedom Especially Notable Book Award from the Lannan Foundation, and her interests are broadly in the fields of race and public policy, Black politics and racial inequality in the United States. Dr. Taylor’s writing has been published in Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture and Society, The Guardian, Los Angeles Times, Boston Review, The New Republic, AlJazeera America, Jacobin, In These Times, New Politics, The International Socialist Review and other publications. She is currently writing a book titled Race for Profit: Black Housing and the Urban Crisis in the 1970s, under contract with the University of North Carolina Press in their Justice, Power and Politics series. Taylor received her PhD in African American Studies at Northwestern University in 2013 and she is currently Assistant Professor of African American Studies at Princeton University.

ABWH Luncheon
12:00 noon – 3:30 p.m.
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati

Last but not least…THANK YOU to our co-sponsors!! You help make this all possible!

2017 ABWH Cosponsors for Luncheon and Graduate Reception

Departments of History and American Studies & Ethnicity, University of Southern California  

The Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; and the Departments of History, Gender Studies, African American and African Diaspora Studies, Indiana University  

Department of African American Studies and African Diaspora Studies, University of California Berkeley

Comparative Black History, Michigan State University  

Director Deborah McDowell and the Carter G. Woodson Institute for African American and African Studies, University of Virginia

Dean Robin Crabtree, Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts, and Stefan Bradley Chair, African American Studies Department, Loyola Marymount University

Dean Darnell Hunt, Division of Social Sciences, University of California Los Angeles

ABWH Journals supplied by Shinola® Palo Alto


ABWH Member Donations to our Awards, Prizes and Gifts

Lillie Johnson Edwards
Sandra Jowers-Barber
Arthe Anthony
Beverly Bunch Lyons
Barbara L. Burger
Sandra Bolzenius
Nancy Hewett
Talitha LeFlouria
Mary Rolinson
Francille Rusan Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *